We are here to help in anyway we can. Below are a list of the most freaquently asked questions. Take a look and see if the answer to your question is there. If it isn't, then feel free to use the adjoining contact form to reach out to us. We will respond as quickly as possible.
How do I sign up for your auctions?
Contact Us and get added to our email list. It goes out once a week with links to the auctions and lets you know what is ending. Visit Gunauction.com, Gunbroker.com & eBay.com and Register. Registration is Fast, Easy, and Secure. After registering with each site, you can obtain links to our items on each site by visiting our auctions page here.
What forms of payment do you accept?
We accept Cashier’s Checks, Money Orders, Cash, Personal Checks and All Major Cards.
Do you offer a Layaway on the firearms?
YES! 20% non refundable down payment within 7 days of the auction’s close and the balance within 60 days, No prior notice is required.
What is a DROS?
The DROS is the “Dealers Record of Sale” form that must be filled out each time a firearm is purchased by a California resident. The DROS form completed for handgun & long gun transfers contains information about both the firearm buyer and the firearm itself (make, model, serial number, etc.). This information is used by the Department of Justice to run the criminal and mental history background check on the buyer and to register the Firearm.
Registration is actually done and maintained by the Department of Justice, but local law enforcement agencies have access to them 24 hours a day. The “DROS fee” collected by Lock Stock & Barrel is sent to the Department of Justice along with the DROS form to pay for the Department’s cost of conducting the criminal and mental history background check.
By state law, the department is not allowed to charge any more than its actual costs. It is expressly prohibited from making a profit on the DROS fee. DROS fee is $25 no matter how many guns you are starting. Because of the DROS requirement, a C&R firearm cannot be shipped directly to a California C&R holder.
I Was The High Bidder – Now What?
1) Pay For Your Auction
Full payment on non-layaway items is required within 14 days. We accept Cashier’s Checks, Money Orders, Cash, Personal Checks and Cards.
To pay online with a card, you can either:
- Use each sites’ checkout tools.
- Click the “Make Payment” link in the navigation of our site at the top of the screen.
- Give us a call and we would be happy to process your payment for you.
To pay with any form of paper currency:
Mail payment to us and please make sure to indicate what you are paying for and where you want it shipped.
2) Send a FFL For Transfer or Stop By Our Shop
Please make sure that the FFL clearly has your name and/or auction number somewhere. When sending by email you can use the Subject line, body of the text, or handwritten on the FFL.
Our fax number is (805)285-0729. You can also put a copy in the envelope along with payment if that is the easiest.
Some FFL’s are on file if we have done business before. Please confirm with us the FFL that we will be shipping to. We do not assume that you will be using the same one as the last time. A simple email or phone call is fine.
3) Leave Positive Feedback
This lets us know that the gun is happily received. If you are not satisfied, for any reason, please contact us before leaving negative or neutral feedback. Our only goal is to make sure your are happy with your purchase.
How do I sell my guns with LSB?
The easiest way is to give us a call (805)285-0715 or email us. We can make an appointment in shop, travel to you, or make arrangements to have the gun shipped to us if you are out of state.
I live out of state. How do I get my guns to you for auction?
Shipping the guns to be purchased or scheduled for auction has been the easiest and fastest way for our out of state consignors. Once the guns arrive, you will be contacted about the receipt of the firearms, the auction start and end dates, and to answer any questions you may have. If you are concerned about shipping firearms, it is understandable and we are here to help make that process easy.
How do you sell my guns?
We sell at on online auction using 1st class Descriptions, Photography, and Customer Service.
When do I get paid?
You get paid two weeks after the close of your auction.
Do you handle local transfers?
If you purchase a gun from another online seller, dealer, or auction, we can handle the transfer of the firearm. We CANNOT accept any firearm that is considered an Assault Weapon in California, if you need to ask – the answer is likely no. We also DO NOT accept transfers on AR or AK type rifles. We are not that kind of shop. Additionally, transfers are reserved for customers familiar with the California Roster of Handguns Certified for Sale and the relevant Exemptions. Make sure you can actually register the gun you bought.